The Lake Grace Australian Inland Mission hospital is the only one in Western Australia and one of only three remaining in Australia.
Visitors are able to experience this early twentieth century rural hospital that, in its time, serviced approximately 16,000 km2.
The Lake Grace Aim Hospital Museum contains the old-style wards, duty room, kitchen and laundry.
For further information Click Here AIM Hospital Brochure
The Lake Grace Railway Station, established in 1924, is part of the Railway Precinct in town that once provided a fully operational railway junction.
Once it ceased to function as a working station the facility was still utilised for in recent years as a meeting/training venue and are the main public ablutions in Lake Grace.
Public Toilet Accessibility Click here
The Lake Grace War Memorial Library, built in 1954, is situated in the main street of Lake Grace.
After World War One the original site was granted to the RSL with 3 trustees: S West, S McKay and E Dewar. The land was subsequently established as a memorial garden. Many ideas for the site were professed until post World War Two when, in 1947, under the Presidency of Jack Coad, the Memorial Committee developed plans. Initially intended as a library, honour hall, rest room and St John Ambulance garage, the costs blew out and despite an expansive fundraising project, the plan went ahead with the library and honour hall, finally opened in 1955. It ceased being a library in 1998 and it is interesting to note that a lemon scented gum tree at the rear is the only remaining flora from the Memorial Garden.
In 2009 a grant from the Department of Veterans Affairs assisted in the refurbishment of the honour boards and various memorabilia within the building.
Accessibility Click here
The building was commissioned by Charles Hainsworth, its first owner, and was built by Ted Freeland, originally a ships carpenter, during 1933/34 as a general store and tearooms. The building operated as a General store from 1934 until 1972 and operated with several owners during that period.
The building continues to act as the Newdegate Pioneer Museum and a community facility.
The Hainsworth Building Committee, Shire of Lake Grace and various organisations are working together to ensure the long term sustainability of the site as well as delivering and engaging visitor experience.
The Lake King Goods Shed was constructed in 1936 and is still used as a goods receival point today. It is located opposite the ‘store’ on the site of the original Lake King tearooms. The ‘store’ had a gallon licence and the goods shed became the social gathering place known as the ‘Hole in the Wall’ which was a popular spot until the tavern opened in 1987.
The Varley Museum is located on the corner of Seward Ave and Arthur St in Varley. Not only does it contain historic town records it also has interesting memorabilia displays.
To view the museum a key can be obtained from the Varley Store and pick up the Varley Museum Brochure.
The Newdegate Skate Park is professionally designed suitable for all ages and skill levels, being bike, skateboard and scooter.
Located on the corner of Mitchell St and Maley St in the centre of Newdegate.
The Lake King Community Playground is an all-age, multi-ability playground that includes play areas to suit a range of different ages and skill levels. The playground was the brainchild of the Lake King Playgroup who requested a safer age appropriate playground for their children while combining a space for older children.
The completed project combines, nature play, traditional play, two age appropriate structures and freestanding play. It includes something for everyone; suits ages, abilities, interests and dispositions.
It has created a flow-through between the two buildings making a disconnected space an attractive, interactive, connected space. It has created a community hub that engages children whilst parents are playing sport, attending community group meetings or simply being social.