Independent living units

Newdegate Hainsworth Building

The Hainsworth Building houses the Newdegate Pioneer Museum is situated on the corner of Mitchell and Collier Streets

Open Thursdays 11.00am - 4.30pm

nh 1

The building was commissioned by Charles Hainsworth, its first owner, and was built by Ted Freeland, originally a ships carpenter, during 1933/34 as a general store and tearooms. The building operated as a General store from 1934 until 1972 and operated with several owners during that period.
The building continues to act as the Newdegate Pioneer Museum and a community facility.

The Hainsworth Building Committee, Shire of Lake Grace and various organisations are working together to ensure the long term sustainability of the site as well as delivering and engaging visitor experience.

nh 3